About US

Arctic Power is a grassroots, non-profit citizen’s organization with 1,000s of members founded in April of 1992 to expedite congressional and presidential approval of oil and gas exploration and production within the Coastal Plain of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. In recent years Arctic Power has broadened its mission beyond the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to include all federal area on the North Slope of Alaska that have been designated by congress as potential oil and gas exploration lands. Arctic Power is based in Anchorage, AK.

Arctic Power membership spans the economic spectrum – including miners, fishermen, loggers, tourism operators, transportation businesses, labor unions, banks, teachers, the legal community, retail firms, service industries, non-profit organizations, Alaska Native corporations, local elected officials, and many others.

A statewide board oversees the activities of Arctic Power and includes representatives from Barrow to Ketchikan – all regions of the state are represented.

The Alaska congressional delegation, the Governor of Alaska, and the Alaska State Legislature have endorsed Arctic Power and work closely with the board and staff of the organization. Arctic Power and the State of Alaska work together in their congressional outreach efforts in Washington, D.C., and across the nation.

The organization is committed to securing congressional and presidential approval of legislation opening the Coastal Plain of ANWR to responsible oil development.

Interest groups represented on the Arctic Power board and through its membership are:

Alaska Support Industry Alliance
Alaska State Chamber of Commerce
Resource Development Council
Alaska Trucking Association
Alaska Oil & Gas Association
Anchorage Chamber of Commerce
Alaska Miner’s Association
Alaska Forest Association.

Arctic Power
P.O. Box 240306
Anchorage, AK 99524
907-274-2697 Anchorage, AK office


Washington DC office phone: 202-248-1662

Arctic Power Board

Mike Navarre Co-Chair
Eric Helzer Co-Chair
Gail Phillips
Drue Pearce
John McKinnon
Wilbur O’Brien
Robert Stiles
Matthew Fagnani
Linda Leary
Frank Dillon
Carl Brady Jr
Tom Brennan
Fred Brown
Jim Campbell
Larry Cooper
Paula Easley
Tom Evans
Jeff Gregory
Shari Gross
Mike Heatwole
Barbara Huff-Tuckness
Wilson Hughes
Benjamin Jack
Jeffrey Johnson
Jeff Lowenfels
Joe Mathis
Stephen McAlpine
John McClellan
Tom Panamaroff
Kyle Parker
Debbie Reinwand
Fenton Rexford
Judy Salo
Jim Sampson
Cindy Schebler
Jerome Selby
Mary Shields
Joe A Sprague
Robert Stinson
Tara Sweeney
Curtis Thayer
Jim Udelhoven